My Top Ten Favourite Punk Bands

Just my top ten favourite punk bands at this moment. Punk has changed a lot in the years and it now encompasses several sub genres as well. All the following bands however have been identified with punk at some point in their history. This was a hard list to compile and by no means a perfect one. I ended up leaving several extremely influential punk bands off the list such as “The Clash” and “The Misfits” simply because I’m not super familiar or just haven’t been into them lately. Without further adieu…. (In no particular order)

10. The Stooges- Key Tracks: “Search and Destroy” “I Wanna Be Your Dog”

9. Wavves- Key Tracks: “King of the Beach” “Demon to Lean On”

8. Sum 41- Key Tracks: “Fat Lip” “The Hell Song” 

7. Sex Pistols- Key Tracks: “God Save The Queen” “Anarchy in the UK”

6. Blink-182- Key Tracks: “What’s My Age Again?” “All the Small Things”

5. Dropkick Murphys- Key Tracks: “State of Massachusetts” “I’m Shipping Up to Boston”

4. Dead Kennedys- Key Tracks: “Holiday in Cambodia” “I Fought the Law”

3. Rise Against- Key Tracks: “The Good Left Undone” “Re-Education” “Give it All”

2. Offspring- Key Tracks: “Come Out and Play (Keep em Separated)” “Pretty Fly (For a White Guy)”

1. Ramones- Key Tracks: “Blitzkrieg Bop” “Havana Affair” “I Wanna Be Sedated”

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favourite Punk Bands

  1. Elvis Costello(and The Attractions)…who wrote one of the best angst-filled lines in all of punk…”My aim is true…”

    Cvet

Leave a Reply

